Meetings, head to head

Briefi vs Otter

Both turn meetings into notes and action items. Otter is the broader, more established transcriber, with a free plan, a lower price per seat, capture with or without a bot, and sync to Salesforce. Briefi is built around the client: a brief before you meet, a follow-up drafted and sent from your own mailbox, and the meeting filed to the client’s record. If you want notes for everyone on a team, Otter is a strong choice. If you meet clients and owe them something afterwards, Briefi keeps that in one place.

ReviewedLast reviewed 15 October 2026. Otter facts checked 15 October 2026

Choose Otter if

  • You want a free plan to start on2
  • You need capture with a bot or without one, on desktop, Chrome and mobile1
  • Your team works in Salesforce1

Choose Briefi if

  • You meet clients, and want a brief in front of you before the meeting starts
  • You want the follow-up drafted and sent from your own mailbox, with actions tracked in a register
  • You want the meeting, forms, signing and portal on one client record
At a glance

Briefi and Otter, side by side

What each does today. Every line about Otter links to the page it came from.

Briefi Meetings compared with Otter, by feature group
Briefi MeetingsPlans from A$39 a monthOtter
Capture
Bot joins the meetingBriefi MeetingsYesOn Pro and up, for Zoom, Teams and Google Meet. The event needs a join link.OtterYesIts AI notetaker joins Zoom, Google Meet and Microsoft Teams1
Capture without a botBriefi MeetingsYesBrowser recording, and a standalone recorder for face-to-face meetingsOtterYesMac and Windows desktop apps, a Chrome extension and mobile1
Before and after the meeting
Action itemsBriefi MeetingsYesKept in an action register, with reminders on Pro and upOtterYesCan pass action items to Asana and Jira1
Integrations
SalesforceBriefi MeetingsNoBriefi has no Salesforce connectionOtterYesLists Salesforce and HubSpot1
Other CRMsBriefi MeetingsSevenGoHighLevel, HubSpot, Monday, Pipedrive, Close, Copper and ActiveCampaign, on Pro and upOtterHubSpotHubSpot is the other CRM its home page names1
Assurance
Where client data is heldBriefi MeetingsStored in SydneySome processing uses providers overseas. The Security page lists them.OtterNot stated on their siteIts privacy and security page names no storage region3
Yes, todayPartly, or on another planNoNot stated

Meetings is the notetaker. Advisor is the notetaker plus the client. Advisor includes everything in Meetings plus signing, the client record, registers and a client portal. A row appears only where Otter’s own pages say something we could check.

Where Otter wins

When Otter is the better choice

If any of these decides it for you, Otter is likely the better fit today.

Free plan

A free plan to begin on

Otter’s Basic plan is free, with 300 minutes a month and 30 minutes for each conversation. Briefi has a free trial, then paid plans.2

Price

A lower price for each seat

Otter’s paid plans are listed per user per month, in US dollars. Compare them with Briefi’s price below before you decide.2

Capture

A bot, or none, on any device

Otter captures with a notetaker that joins, or without one through its Mac and Windows apps, a Chrome extension and mobile. Briefi can also record without a bot, in the browser or with its standalone recorder, but its bot is on Pro and up.1

Search

Searchable meeting knowledge for a team

Otter describes its product as turning every meeting into searchable knowledge, and it is built for teams across sales, education, media and recruiting.1

Salesforce

Salesforce sync

Otter lists Salesforce and HubSpot as CRM connections. Briefi connects to seven CRMs, but Salesforce is not one of them.1

Assurance

A SOC 2 report to show procurement

Otter states that it holds SOC 2 Type 2.3

Where Briefi is different

The meeting is one step in the client’s story.

Briefi was built for people who meet the same clients for years. The notes are where a meeting ends, and what you owe the client is what comes next.

  • A brief before you meetMeetings

    Briefi writes a brief ahead of the meeting, so you walk in knowing the history, the open actions and what was promised last time.

  • The follow-up, from your own mailboxMeetings

    The recap becomes a follow-up draft you can edit and send from your Gmail, Microsoft 365 or SMTP mailbox, so it arrives from you.

  • An action register, not a list in a noteMeetings

    Actions from every meeting land in one register, with reminders on Pro and up, so nothing lives only in last month’s notes.

  • The meeting on the client’s recordAdvisor

    Advisor puts meetings, forms, signed copies and registers for a client on one record, with an optional client portal.

Meetings on its own has no client record, signing or portal. Advisor adds them on the same workspace.

Pricing

Pricing compared

Both charge by the month for each user. Otter’s figures are in US dollars, as its page states, and are as published on the date shown; check its page before you decide.

Pro
From A$39 a month
  • 6 capture hours each month
  • Monthly or annual billing
Figures from Briefi’s live price list
Otter
From Free, then $16.99 USD per user a month
  • Basic is free: 300 minutes a month, and 30 minutes for each conversation
  • Pro is $16.99 per user a month when paid monthly
  • Business is $30 per user a month when paid monthly, or $19.99 when paid annually
  • Enterprise is quoted on request
  • Prices are listed in US dollars
Checked on 15 October 2026. Source 2

Briefi prices are in AUD and are read from the same price list as the pricing page, so they change when it does.

Questions

Briefi and Otter, asked often

Is Briefi a straight Otter replacement?

For client meetings, often yes, and it does more around them: the brief before, the follow-up from your mailbox and the action register. If you rely on Salesforce sync or a free plan, not yet.

Does Briefi join meetings with a bot?

Yes, on Pro and up, for Zoom, Teams and Google Meet, when the calendar event has a join link. You can also record without a bot in the browser, or face to face with the standalone recorder.

Does Briefi connect to Salesforce?

No. Briefi connects to GoHighLevel, HubSpot, Monday, Pipedrive, Close, Copper and ActiveCampaign. If Salesforce is where your team works, Otter lists it.

Does Briefi write in languages other than English?

Transcription detects the language spoken. The recaps, forms and PDFs Briefi writes are in English only.

Where is my clients’ data stored?

Stored in Sydney. Some processing uses providers overseas. Sensitive content is encrypted with a key held for your workspace. The Security page lists the providers and where they are.

How does Briefi protect client data?

The Security page sets out how data is stored, encrypted and accessed, so your own review can proceed on the facts.

Where can I read more?

Our earlier blog post compares the two. This page is the dated, sourced version.

Try it

Meet a client. See the brief, then the follow-up.

Start free trial Pro from A$39 a month

Sources and review

Last reviewed 15 October 2026. Facts about Otter come from its own published pages on the dates shown. Each product named here is a trademark of its owner, and Briefi is not affiliated with them.

Seen something out of date? Write to support@briefi.sh and we will check it.

  1. 1Otter, home page. https://otter.ai Checked 15 October 2026.
  2. 2Otter, pricing. https://otter.ai/pricing Checked 15 October 2026.
  3. 3Otter, privacy and security. https://otter.ai/privacy-security Checked 15 October 2026.

Briefi’s own pages

  1. B1briefi.sh/meetings. https://briefi.sh/meetings
  2. B2briefi.sh/security. https://briefi.sh/security
  3. B3briefi.sh/advisor. https://briefi.sh/advisor