Sign, head to head

Briefi vs Dropbox Sign

Both send documents for clients to sign online. Dropbox Sign is a mature, general e-signature tool that sits well inside the Dropbox, Google Drive, Salesforce and HubSpot world, with bulk send, a published API and named certifications. Briefi Sign is narrower and built around the client: the signed PDF files to that client’s record with the signing evidence on the page. If you live in those integrations or need the API, Dropbox Sign is the better pick. If the signed form is one step in a relationship you also meet and review, Briefi keeps it in one place.

ReviewedLast reviewed 15 October 2026. Dropbox Sign facts checked 15 October 2026

Choose Dropbox Sign if

  • Your documents already live in Dropbox or Google Drive and you want signing to sit on top13
  • You need bulk send, text message authentication or a self-serve API with published tiers34
  • A buyer asks for named certifications such as ISO 27001 or SOC 2 Type II3

Choose Briefi if

  • Your forms are fact-finds and engagement letters, from templates in your own wording
  • You want the signed copy on the client’s record, not in a separate archive
  • You also meet these clients, and want the meetings, portal and registers alongside
At a glance

Briefi Sign and Dropbox Sign, side by side

What each does today. Every line about Dropbox Sign links to the page it came from.

Briefi Sign compared with Dropbox Sign, by feature group
Briefi SignPlans from A$39 a monthDropbox Sign
Signing
TemplatesBriefi SignYesStart from a template or import a Word or PDF document, in your own wordingDropbox SignYesLists templates with its signing features3
Evidence of who signedBriefi SignCertificate pageNames, times, IP address, device and location, with a SHA-256 digest of the documentDropbox SignAudit trailLists an audit trail, and describes audit-ready trails on its home page13
In-person signingBriefi SignCo-signers on one deviceA co-signer can sign on the client’s device after confirming a code sent to them, and your firm can countersignDropbox SignListedIn-person signing is listed; the plan is not stated on the pages we read3
Signers and identity
Collecting files from signersBriefi SignOn AdvisorDocument requests on the client record come with the Advisor plans, not SignDropbox SignSigner attachmentsSigners can attach files while signing3
Connections
IntegrationsBriefi SignCRM push on Pro and upBriefi pushes meeting notes and outcomes to GoHighLevel, HubSpot, Monday, Pipedrive, Close, Copper, ActiveCampaign, Salesforce, Zoho CRM and Microsoft Dynamics 365; it does not connect to Dropbox or Google DriveDropbox SignYesLists Dropbox, Google Drive, OneDrive, Microsoft Word, Salesforce, Salesforce CPQ and HubSpot32
Developer APIBriefi SignNot on SignThe public API comes with Business and the Advisor plans, not SignDropbox SignYesPublished API plans, from USD 75 a month for 50 requests, billed yearly14
Yes, todayPartly, or on another planNoNot stated

Sign is the paperwork without the meetings. Advisor includes everything in Sign plus the meeting tools, the client record, registers and a client portal. A row appears only where Dropbox Sign’s own pages say something we could check.

Where Dropbox Sign wins

When Dropbox Sign is the better choice

If any of these decides it for you, Dropbox Sign is likely the better fit today.

Ecosystem

Native links to Dropbox, Google Drive and your CRM

Dropbox Sign lists Dropbox, Google Drive, OneDrive, Microsoft Word, Salesforce and HubSpot. Briefi imports Word and PDF files, but has no Dropbox or Google Drive connection.13

API

A self-serve API with published tiers

Dropbox Sign publishes API plans in US dollars, from USD 75 a month for 50 requests billed yearly, then USD 250 a month for 100 requests. On Briefi the public API is not part of Sign.4

Breadth

Bulk send and text message authentication

Dropbox Sign lists both, along with in-person signing and signer attachments. Its pages do not say which plan includes each.3

Assurance

Certifications a buyer may ask for

Dropbox Sign states ISO 27001, SOC 2 Type II, eIDAS and ESIGN, and HIPAA with a signed agreement above a minimum contract value.31

Where Briefi is different

The signature is one step on the client’s record.

Briefi was built for small practices that meet the same clients for years. Signing is where a form ends, and the record is where it lands.

  • Forms in your wording, not a blank PDFSign

    Start from a template or import a Word or PDF document, put in your firm’s wording and send it. Initials carry forward on an amendment, so a signer is not asked to initial a section nobody changed.

  • Signers who are not in the same roomSign

    Each signer can have their own link, sign together on one device, or be countersigned by your firm. A signer can name an attorney and the power they sign under.

  • The evidence is on the documentSign

    The signed PDF carries a certificate page with names, times, IP address, device and location, and a SHA-256 digest of the document.

  • Signing on the same record as the meetingsAdvisor

    Advisor puts meetings, forms and signed copies for a client on one record, with registers for loans, policies, entities and claims, and an optional client portal.

Sign on its own has no meeting capture, no client portal and no review cadences. Advisor adds them on the same workspace.

Pricing

Pricing compared

Briefi is priced by plan, and the figure beside this comparison is read from our pricing. Dropbox Sign shows different currencies on different pages, so every figure below names the currency and the page. Nothing has been converted to Australian dollars; check its page before you decide.

Briefi Sign
From A$39 a month
  • 40 form requests per user each month
  • Monthly or annual billing
Figures from Briefi’s live price list
Dropbox Sign
From USD 15 a month for each user, billed yearly, as shown in US dollars on its home page when we read it
  • Home page, US dollars: starts at USD 15 a month for each user, billed yearly, with a 30-day free trial
  • Pricing page, pounds (GBP) as shown when we read it: Essentials GBP 11.67 a month for one person, GBP 140 billed yearly
  • Pricing page, GBP: Standard GBP 20 a month for each user, starting at GBP 480 billed yearly
  • Premium, for larger teams, is priced on request
  • Its pricing page states unlimited signature requests with no hidden fees
  • API plans, US dollars: Essentials from USD 75 a month for 50 requests, Standard USD 250 a month for 100 requests, Premium on request
Checked on 15 October 2026. Source 124

Briefi prices are in AUD and are read from the same price list as the pricing page, so they change when it does.

Questions

Briefi and Dropbox Sign, asked often

Can Briefi Sign replace Dropbox Sign?

For client forms, often yes: fact-finds, engagement letters, entity details and consents, completed and signed on a phone and filed to the client. If you rely on the Dropbox or Google Drive connections, not yet, and the public API comes with other Briefi plans rather than Sign.

Are electronic signatures valid in Australia?

Electronic signatures are widely used here, but some documents have their own signing rules. Check the rules for your document type. Each Briefi signature comes with a certificate page that records who signed, when and from where.

Does Briefi do identity checks?

Not yet. Identity checks are built but not switched on, so there is nothing to set up or pay for. A co-signer who signs on the client’s device confirms a code sent to them first.

How does Briefi protect client data?

The Security page sets out how data is stored, encrypted and accessed, so your own review can proceed on the facts.

Where is my clients’ data stored?

Stored in Sydney. Some processing uses providers overseas. Sensitive content is encrypted with a key held for your workspace. The Security page lists the providers and where they are.

Can we run both while we switch?

Yes. Nothing in Briefi stops you finishing documents in Dropbox Sign while new ones go out from Briefi.

Try it

Send one form. Watch it come back signed.

Start free trial Briefi Sign from A$39 a month

Sources and review

Last reviewed 15 October 2026. Facts about Dropbox Sign come from its own published pages on the dates shown. Each product named here is a trademark of its owner, and Briefi is not affiliated with them.

Seen something out of date? Write to support@briefi.sh and we will check it.

  1. 1Dropbox Sign, home page. https://sign.dropbox.com/ Checked 15 October 2026.
  2. 2Dropbox Sign, pricing. https://sign.dropbox.com/products/dropbox-sign/pricing Checked 15 October 2026.
  3. 3Dropbox Sign, features. https://sign.dropbox.com/features Checked 15 October 2026.
  4. 4Dropbox Sign, API pricing. https://sign.dropbox.com/products/dropbox-sign-api/pricing Checked 15 October 2026.

Briefi’s own pages

  1. B1briefi.sh/sign. https://briefi.sh/sign
  2. B2briefi.sh/security. https://briefi.sh/security
  3. B3briefi.sh/advisor. https://briefi.sh/advisor