Sign, head to head

Briefi vs BoldSign

Both send documents for clients to sign online. BoldSign is a low-priced e-signature tool with a free plan, a long add-on menu (identity verification, knowledge-based authentication, bulk send, qualified signatures), an API, and Australia among the data residency options its plan table lists. Briefi Sign is narrower and built around the client: the signed PDF files to that client’s record with the signing evidence on the page. If you want a cheap general-purpose signer, the add-ons or the API, BoldSign is the better pick. If the signed form is one step in a relationship you also meet and review, Briefi keeps it in one place.

ReviewedLast reviewed 15 October 2026. BoldSign facts checked 15 October 2026

Choose BoldSign if

  • You want a free plan to start, or the lowest published price for each user1
  • You need identity verification, knowledge-based authentication or bulk send as add-ons1
  • You want to choose Australia as the data residency region, as its plan table lists1

Choose Briefi if

  • Your forms are fact-finds and engagement letters, from templates in your own wording
  • You want the signed copy on the client’s record, not in a separate archive
  • You also meet these clients, and want the meetings, portal and registers alongside
At a glance

Briefi Sign and BoldSign, side by side

What each does today. Every line about BoldSign links to the page it came from.

Briefi Sign compared with BoldSign, by feature group
Briefi SignPlans from A$39 a monthBoldSign
Signing
Evidence of who signedBriefi SignCertificate pageNames, times, IP address, device and location, with a SHA-256 digest of the documentBoldSignAudit trailA complete document history with signer authentication, from its free plan1
TemplatesBriefi SignYesStart from a template or import a Word or PDF document, in your own wordingBoldSignYesTemplates on every plan; unlimited on Business and Premium1
In-person signingBriefi SignCo-signers on one deviceA co-signer can sign on the client’s device after confirming a code sent to them, and your firm can countersignBoldSignYesIn-person signing and print, sign and upload, from its Growth plan1
Identity and files
Identity check before signingBriefi SignNot yetBuilt, but not switched onBoldSignAdd-onID verification and knowledge-based authentication are add-ons; their price is not stated1
Collecting files from signersBriefi SignOn AdvisorDocument requests on the client record come with the Advisor plans, not SignBoldSignYesRequest attachments and signer attachments from its free plan1
Connections and data
IntegrationsBriefi SignCRM push on Pro and upBriefi pushes meeting notes and outcomes to GoHighLevel, HubSpot, Monday, Pipedrive, Close, Copper, ActiveCampaign, Salesforce, Zoho CRM and Microsoft Dynamics 365; it has no Xero connectionBoldSignYesLists Xero from Growth, HubSpot from Business, and Zapier and Power Automate on its API plan1
Developer APIBriefi SignNot on SignThe public API comes with Business and the Advisor plans, not SignBoldSignYesAn API plan with webhooks and embedded signing, from USD 30 a month including 40 envelopes, and a free sandbox12
Where the data is heldBriefi SignStored in SydneySome processing uses providers overseas. The Security page lists them.BoldSignRegion optionsIts plan table lists data residency in the US, EU, Canada and Australia1
Yes, todayPartly, or on another planNoNot stated

Sign is the paperwork without the meetings. Advisor includes everything in Sign plus the meeting tools, the client record, registers and a client portal. A row appears only where BoldSign’s own pages say something we could check.

Where BoldSign wins

When BoldSign is the better choice

If any of these decides it for you, BoldSign is likely the better fit today.

Price

A free plan and low published prices

BoldSign has a free Essential plan for one user with 25 envelopes a month, and lists paid plans from USD 5 a month for each user. The page does not make the billing period clear, so check it.1

Add-ons

A long menu of add-ons

BoldSign lists bulk send, text message and WhatsApp delivery, ID verification, knowledge-based authentication, text message authentication and qualified electronic signatures as add-ons. Briefi’s identity checks are not available yet.1

API

An API plan with a free sandbox

BoldSign lists an API plan from USD 30 a month with 40 envelopes included and further envelopes at USD 0.75 each, plus a free sandbox. On Briefi the public API is not part of Sign.12

Region

Australia as a data residency option

BoldSign’s plan table lists data residency in the US, EU, Canada and Australia on every plan. Briefi’s app and database are in Sydney, with some processing by providers overseas.1

Assurance

Certifications a buyer may ask for

BoldSign’s plan table lists GDPR, SOC 2 Type II and eIDAS on every plan, and HIPAA from its Business plan.1

Where Briefi is different

The signature is one step on the client’s record.

Briefi was built for small practices that meet the same clients for years. Signing is where a form ends, and the record is where it lands.

  • Forms in your wording, not a blank PDFSign

    Start from a template or import a Word or PDF document, put in your firm’s wording and send it. Initials carry forward on an amendment, so a signer is not asked to initial a section nobody changed.

  • Signers who are not in the same roomSign

    Each signer can have their own link, sign together on one device, or be countersigned by your firm. A signer can name an attorney and the power they sign under.

  • The evidence is on the documentSign

    The signed PDF carries a certificate page with names, times, IP address, device and location, and a SHA-256 digest of the document.

  • Signing on the same record as the meetingsAdvisor

    Advisor puts meetings, forms and signed copies for a client on one record, with registers for loans, policies, entities and claims, and an optional client portal.

Sign on its own has no meeting capture, no client portal and no review cadences. Advisor adds them on the same workspace.

Pricing

Pricing compared

Briefi is priced by plan, and the figure beside this comparison is read from our pricing. BoldSign’s figures are US dollars, as its pricing page states. The text we read does not show whether the yearly or monthly option was selected, so they are given as a starting point only. Nothing has been converted to Australian dollars; check its page before you decide.

Briefi Sign
From A$39 a month
  • 40 form requests per user each month
  • Monthly or annual billing
Figures from Briefi’s live price list
BoldSign
From Paid plans from USD 5 a month for each user, in US dollars
  • Essential: USD 0, for one user, 25 envelopes a month and 2 templates
  • Growth: from USD 5 a month for each user, 50 envelopes a month for each user and 10 templates
  • Business: from USD 15 a month for each user, with unlimited envelopes and templates
  • Premium: from USD 99 a month for unlimited users, 250 envelopes a month and unlimited templates
  • API: from USD 30 a month including 40 envelopes, with further envelopes at USD 0.75 each
  • Add-on prices are not stated, and a 30-day free trial with no card is stated
Checked on 15 October 2026. Source 12

Briefi prices are in AUD and are read from the same price list as the pricing page, so they change when it does.

Questions

Briefi and BoldSign, asked often

Can Briefi Sign replace BoldSign?

For client forms, often yes: fact-finds, engagement letters, entity details and consents, completed and signed on a phone and filed to the client. If you rely on ID verification add-ons, not yet, and the public API comes with other Briefi plans rather than Sign.

Are electronic signatures valid in Australia?

Electronic signatures are widely used here, but some documents have their own signing rules. Check the rules for your document type. Each Briefi signature comes with a certificate page that records who signed, when and from where.

Does Briefi do identity checks?

Not yet. Identity checks are built but not switched on, so there is nothing to set up or pay for. If you need them today, BoldSign lists ID verification and knowledge-based authentication as add-ons.

How does Briefi protect client data?

The Security page sets out how data is stored, encrypted and accessed, so your own review can proceed on the facts.

Where is my clients’ data stored?

Stored in Sydney. Some processing uses providers overseas. Sensitive content is encrypted with a key held for your workspace. The Security page lists the providers and where they are.

Can we run both while we switch?

Yes. Nothing in Briefi stops you finishing documents in BoldSign while new ones go out from Briefi.

Try it

Send one form. Watch it come back signed.

Start free trial Briefi Sign from A$39 a month

Sources and review

Last reviewed 15 October 2026. Facts about BoldSign come from its own published pages on the dates shown. Each product named here is a trademark of its owner, and Briefi is not affiliated with them.

Seen something out of date? Write to support@briefi.sh and we will check it.

  1. 1BoldSign, pricing (US dollars). https://boldsign.com/electronic-signature-pricing/ Checked 15 October 2026.
  2. 2BoldSign, API pricing (read through a page summary). https://boldsign.com/electronic-signature-pricing/?plan=api Checked 15 October 2026.
  3. 3BoldSign, home page (read through a page summary). https://boldsign.com/ Checked 15 October 2026.

Briefi’s own pages

  1. B1briefi.sh/sign. https://briefi.sh/sign
  2. B2briefi.sh/security. https://briefi.sh/security
  3. B3briefi.sh/advisor. https://briefi.sh/advisor